ISTE Honors Revolutionary Educators for Transforming Learning Experiences Across the World

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE), a nonprofit focused on accelerating innovation in education, has announced the winners of the 2023 ISTE Impact Award, Distinguished District Award, Making It Happen Award, and 20 to Watch Award. This year's recipients will be recognized during ISTELive 2023, June 25-28 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

“It’s always great when ISTE has the opportunity to recognize change makers in the field of education,” said Richard Culatta, ISTE CEO. “This year's recipients stretch across the globe from Tunisia to Canada and beyond, showcasing the innovative work taking place across national borders. It is an honor to award these individuals and school districts.”

ISTE Impact Award
This award recognizes individuals who do outstanding work to improve learning for all students and create systemwide change in the field of education. The 2023 awardees are:

  • Sharif El-Mekki, CEO & founder, The Center for Black Educator Development (Philadelphia)
  • Gregg Behr, founder, co-chair and executive director, Remake Learning, The Grable Foundation (Pittsburgh)
  • Rose Luckin, professor of learner-centered design, UCL Knowledge Lab (Brighton, UK)

MORE Center News